Starter Step

Getting my iPhone Developer Account

Posted on: February 11, 2009

After working on an iPhone app at the office…I decided to build my own iPhone app and take a stab at getting something into the AppStore.  I already have an apple id and had the iPhone sdk, so nothing to do there.  In order to distribute the application you need to pay for a developer account, so I just went to developer.apple.com and signed in and “applied” for my developer account.  Going through the ordering process was very cludgy. After filling in some information, Apple in all their glory dumps me into a “Other people also bought this” which was a list of apple products.  I was very confused.  I am trying to apply to get a developer account and you want me to buy a 1tb hard drive?? Wtf!?!  I thought I lost my session or something.  I think thought..maybe it put it in my shopping cart or something.  Clicking on my shopping cart revealed my developer account as an item in my shopping cart.  I began the checkout process and then realized I had to pay TAX on this crap. Huh?  Yeah my 99 registration was 107 and some change.  Ok ok, thats cool.  I’ll get my email telling me I can login or get a verification link or something…nope nuthin, nada, zilch.  We’ll see whats next..

1 Response to "Getting my iPhone Developer Account"

You are so right! The site & joining process is border line stupid… It does not even seem like any professional site. Especially when using IE

Well, I’m at the point, where I would say, no choice here…

-M

Leave a Reply

  • Dave: I can tell you're a ruby guy because you forgot the 'return' keyword. Thanks for the tip though!
  • Chandrashekhar H M: Hi, Thanks its working fine in iOS 6 but not in iOS 7.0. Any Suggestion on this.
  • Coeur: To change a rootViewController, without all this TVNavigationController : myNewRoot = [[UIViewController alloc] init]; myNavigationController.view
