Starter Step

The joy of helpers

Posted on: January 24, 2009

I’m a believer in coding for readability.  I recently started back on building Comparative Agility.  Before the holidays, we were in a bit of a crunch to get a functional app ready for a conference that Ken and Mike were attending.  In the crunch, I did not create any helpers.  In my last project with Mike I did just the opposite.  I had time and was able to create helpers for a ton of stuff.  The result was very readable.  I can pick up the Userstories code and very quickly jump into adding features or fixing issues.  The Comparative Agility project is much more ui intensive and helpers are going to be my savior.  Now that the crunch is over, I can go refactor and clean up the ui.  If you haven’t had a chance to check out Comparative Agility, you should….its a great concept, awesome site, and of course its Ruby 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • Dave: I can tell you're a ruby guy because you forgot the 'return' keyword. Thanks for the tip though!
  • Chandrashekhar H M: Hi, Thanks its working fine in iOS 6 but not in iOS 7.0. Any Suggestion on this.
  • Coeur: To change a rootViewController, without all this TVNavigationController : myNewRoot = [[UIViewController alloc] init]; myNavigationController.view
