Starter Step

Mind Meld – Proof that languages and frameworks dont make you great!

Posted on: January 16, 2009

Lately, my brain has been  over stimulated and has suffered some of what I call “mind meld”.  I have been working with Ruby on Rails for some time now and was in my groove.  Thanks to Brandon Aaron, my javascript skills were also starting to improve.  I then got a consulting gig for FitNesse and I had to learn C# in about a week to deliver a class on building FitNesse fixtures.  I had delivered the class in Java some time ago, but the client was an all .Net shop.  After that gig, I had to dive into Objective-C for an application that we are building at Sabre.  Brian then introduced me to PureMVC and showed me what he was doing in Objective-C to port the meta-pattern.  So at this point I have Ruby, Rails, JS, C#, and Objective-C all running around in my head. Then my brain went into overload!  I got a call to do some consulting for a j2ee shop for a week.  I was excited to play around with Java again.  It had been a few years since I had gotten my hands dirty with Java.  I then learn that the company is using the 1.4.2 sdk with struts 1 and ejb2.  Talk about taking it back a few years….I had to really dig in and refresh myself.

All this has happend in the last 2 months.  My thoughts are that the languages and frameworks you use don’t make you great.  I enjoy the challenge of picking up and dusting a part of my brain I havent used in a while and applying knowledge I havent used in 5 years.  My core thought is that being able to communicate and and solve problems is what makes you a ninja.  Am I a [insert your favorite language here] badass…..uh no.  Can I solve a problem and then figure out how to get that to work in [insert your favorite language here]….ohh yeah!

Meh! more ramblings later…

Leave a Reply

  • Dave: I can tell you're a ruby guy because you forgot the 'return' keyword. Thanks for the tip though!
  • Chandrashekhar H M: Hi, Thanks its working fine in iOS 6 but not in iOS 7.0. Any Suggestion on this.
  • Coeur: To change a rootViewController, without all this TVNavigationController : myNewRoot = [[UIViewController alloc] init]; myNavigationController.view
